The Top Ten finalists in the 2019 South Carolina Young Filmmakers Project got the red carpet treatment with a special screening on Saturday, May 11, at the Nickelodeon Theater in Columbia, SC.  

As chosen by a panel of industry professionals, the 10 two-minute short films represented the best of young filmmaking from across the state.  The event also included a screening Q&A and a filmmaker reception.

The First, Second, Third place prizes were also announced during the awards ceremony.  Each winner received a trophy and a cash prize.  The winners were, with links to their films:

Compass:  The Magical Journey of Magic (First Place)
Payton Heleine, Liam Conley
Academy for the Arts, Science, and Technology
Myrtle Beach, SC


Inheritance (Second Place)
Dorian Del Valle, Alex Strunk, Jesse Stratford, Angela Alasia
Palmetto Scholars Academy
North Charleston, SC 

Firewall (Third Place)
Aaron Falls, Malcolm Addison, Ben Robinson and CJ Stefanco
Clover High School
Clover, SC 

The Richest Man in the Wood (Honorable Mention)
Travis Kyker, Caleb Eells
Travelers Rest, SC 

A Journey of The Soul (Honorable Mention)
Annaka Ehlers
Heathwood Hall Episcopal School
Columbia, SC


The other finalists are listed below, with links to their excellent short films. 

Bittersweet Childhood Memories
Emma Ann Lay
Academy for the Arts, Science, and Technology

Dead by Daylight
Jared Seafus
Academy for the Arts, Science, and Technology
Conway, SC 

Iā€™m Sorry
Parker Milley, Colby Ballard, Brock Wolford, and Barry Thornburg
Clover High School
Clover, SC 

Still from Honorable Mention winner The Richest Man In The Wood.

Seth Curl, Levi Guffy, Brandon Thomas
Clover High School
Clover, SC 

Who Are You
Logan Emrick
Academy for the Arts, Science, and Technology
Conway, SC

Next year's contest will be announced in Fall 2019.  Click here for last year's contest rules and more info.